shreyagoswami7

To Live, Love and Learn: A Cookworm's Tale

Breaking Bread: A Slytherin’s Twisted Tail!

Dear dear! How do you explain an obsession with food and fantasy fiction on the same plate?

During the phase when the fans were missing the Harry Potter books (the series had ended in 2007) and awaiting the release of the Deathly Hallows movie (November 2010), I realized I missed the books enough to inadvertently create a stuffed bread which was uniquely Slytherin. Let me be clear here, I do believe I am a Slytherin (definitely not the Voldemort kind!) and a Snape fan, and I think Rowling overplayed and made sweeping generalizations regarding the evilness of Slytherins.

In 2010, I was rather missing Snape and Slytherins. And as I was going through the normal process of kneading and proving my simple, basic bread, I realized I wanted a change. So I diverted a bit. I chopped and fried ingredients like spinach, chicken liver, onions, capsicums, carrots, beetroot and cheese. Then I rolled out the bread dough into a rectangular strip and lay the stuffing along one side of the length of the dough. I folded the remaining dough on top of the stuffing and sealed the edges with egg wash (basically a beaten egg, can be substituted with milk or butter).

Image

I moved the dough to a baking tray (greased with butter and dusted with flour) and twisted it to make it look like a snake. Then I baked the whole thing for 20 minutes.Image

The thing that came out was rather symbolic…it had a crusty exterior and a soft and amazing interior…quite a Slytherin, eh?

(P.S. You can just call this one a stuffed bread if you’re not exactly missing the HP books or Slytherins or Snape. Just my way of making it more interesting.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2013 by in Breaking Bread.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

